When Your Perfect Book Title is Taken

As I get toward the end of my novel, I’m thinking more and more about the contents of the query letter I will be sending out, the editing and formatting that I will have to do, and the big t – title.

I’ve had the title for this novel for years. Back when I began writing it, I checked if there was another by the same name, and there wasn’t!

Except now there is.

So what do I do?

I know that there are hundreds of books by the same name, that general names are rampant, and that names aren’t copyrighted unless they specifically refer to a popular brand or series. You can’t name your book Twilight: Breaking Dawn but you can name it Twilight. One infringes on rights and one doesn’t.

My title would be ok. It’s not too general but not specific enough, and the other book is a self-published fantasy about completely different things.

But I don’t want to. It’s going to be my first published work and I don’t want to already put it in competition on a Google or Goodreads search.

So now I’m trying to find a way to change the name just a little to make it unique. I’ve been calling it the name for so long, though, that I don’t know if that’s possible.

Basically, this sucks.

Has anyone else been in this situation? Did you choose a unique name or one already existing? Why?

Leave a Reply

