Words with Power.

Do you have a song with lyrics that work like kindle inside you, setting your soul on fire? That make your body tense with feelings that you didn’t know existed? For me, this is one of them.

You left me here like a chalk outline

On the sidewalk waiting for the rain to wash away

Wash away

You keep coming back to the scene of the crime

But the dead can’t speak and there’s nothing left to say anyway

All you left behind

Is a chalk outline. 

(Chalk Outline by 3 Days Grace)

Every time I hear those words I feel like my chest is going to burst because of how powerful they are. How has no one yet put words to this metaphor? It doesn’t just work, it bleeds with emotion. Put it to music and a singer whose voice screams their torture and it’s impossible not to feel.

Songs are composed of three parts – the lyrics, the music, and the singer. Any one of the three can make the song, break the song, or be irrelevant to the song.

My husband always tells me that the original singer songwriter brings the most feeling because it’s their song and no cover can possibly make it more than that, but I beg to disagree. Sweet Dreams by Marilyn Manson. Shout by Disturbed. Turn the Page by Metallica. Covers that bring feeling to the songs that otherwise fall short of their true potential.

Music to me is much more emotion inducing than most people. My father is a musician and in part, so was I, or I could have been if my life didn’t go a different direction. Music has deep roots inside of me and when I listen, I can’t write because I can’t focus. It provides me inspiration, but I can’t draw from it while I’m writing because I’m too distracted by everything I’m feeling.

But it doesn’t take away from appreciating the writing in music for me. There are many more lines in song lyrics that are so poetic, so powerful, my whole body gets goosebumps.

If you have some, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

