Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews

17333171

I wanted to read this book so much I actually said screw it and put aside my own writing time to do so. I’ve been religiously following the series, enjoying the world of Kate Daniels, even if I sometimes feel disappointed in its lack of progression.

I give big props to Ilona for the sheer amount of research that she puts into her stories. Every book is something different and incredibly interesting in a historical sense. We’ve had Russian, Egyptian, Indian – and now Arabic. If there’s one thing I love it’s learning about world mythology.

And yet it was just another filler novel. You know how when you watch a TV show with a great main story but then you get a random stand-alone episode completely irrelevant to the rest of the story?

And yet the last episode ended in a huge cliffhanger that’s barely mentioned?

Yea, that’s kind of how it felt.

The story was cool. It was the standard problem -> detective work -> solution formula of a supernatural mystery.

Except I didn’t want a random problem of a random monster.

I wanted Kate to become the queen of Atlanta and everyone groveling at her feet. How does what she is stay secret in any way shape or form? I don’t get it.

Anyway, my bias aside it was a nice read but it left me quite unfulfilled.

The wordiness was a double edged sword. Sometimes it worked, and other times it’s 4 pages of Kate trying to open a door.

And the recaps oh man the recaps. This is worse than Terry Goodkind. Ilona, if I’m reading book 8 chances are I don’t need detailed explanations of who ALL the main characters are and how they got their scars.

No. No I don’t. Please stop telling me. Over and over again.

Needless to say I skimmed a lot. There was a plethora of action scenes and monster descriptions but it felt really convoluted. I couldn’t -picture- them. Reading, to me, is like a TV in my head, and I don’t like not being able to see. I had to just use my own imagination.

It’s definitely worth a read if you’re looking to expand your Kate Daniels universe but don’t expect anything mind blowing.

Leave a Reply

