UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale, #1) by Chanda Hahn

13402447

Man, I really wanted to like this book. And a part of me did or I would have put it down when I first wanted to. However, finishing it isn’t the same as being compelled to continue, and this series I will not be.

The name was intriguing and seeing how I love fairy tales I quickly picked this up.  I liked the cover, too, and covers usually turn me off to books.

The premise – a descendant of the Grimm family cursed to relive fairy tales – is very cool. The incorporation of actual Fae made me happy. The plot itself, overall, was good. You feel the ‘but’ coming, don’t you?

But it was written so awkward and random I just couldn’t get into it. Everyone’s actions seemed to come out of nowhere and be the complete opposite of their given personality, especially the main character’s. Her emotions were all over the place, and not due to her being a teenager.

The dialogue was a big one too because the writer kept using words no one would ever say. Words that are just for literature, not for actual talking, such as ‘nor’. Like the writer wanted them to sound smart but made them sound fake instead.

And I’m not even I’m going to mention the lack of editing. Ok, I mentioned it, and it’s not as bad as some others I’ve read *coughCurrancough* but everything from spelling to missing punctuation really put a damper on the experience (and sometimes confused the hell out of me).

If there’s anything I liked the most it’s the ending. I part of me wishes I just skimmed through it and got to the good part, but I understand the need for storybuilding when there’s quite a few volumes coming up after the first.

Overall, if you’re a fan of teen angst and fairy tales, you might enjoy this. If you’re looking for something a little more mature with solid writing – this isn’t the book for you.

2 thoughts on “UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale, #1) by Chanda Hahn

Leave a Reply

