Dreamer’s Pool (Blackthorn & Grim, #1) by Juliet Marillier

17305016

So you like dark fairy tales?

Shady pasts and uncertain futures?

Loathsome villains and unwilling heroes?

Then Dreamer’s Pool is definitely for you.

This book was fantastic.

It was written beautifully, but most negative reviews I’ve read mentioned the slow pace and long novel length. Let me tell you, it’s worth it. Everything that happens to the characters matters. It is literally like being sucked into their world not wanting to leave. You want more.

The characters were great and believable. I loved Grim. It makes me sad this novel didn’t give us as much on him as Blackthorn, but since I know there’s two more I can’t fault it. I need a break anyway, to digest.

It did feel predictable throughout. There were many parts where I thought I knew what was going to happen, but she proved me wrong on several occasions, all the way to the end.

And oh man that end. The stones. I thought my heart stopped for a moment, not because I was afraid, but because I felt it so thoroughly it hurt. If you read this, you’ll know what I mean.

Basically, any fan of adult fairy tales would enjoy this, but make sure you set aside enough time to truly get into it.

Leave a Reply

