The big transition.

I am at the point in my life where I can make a conscious decision to become either a full time writer or a full time employee and very part time writer.

I am in the midst of a job prospect in a field I’m semi-interested in, that utilizes my degree, and with higher pay than I have ever had before. Pay that would significantly benefit our lifestyle, though we do not need it to live comfortably. My husband doesn’t want me to take it because he thinks the world is a terrible place and would rather me be safe behind the doors of our house. But, he is very supportive of me (and I love him for it), and if I want to take this job he will make it work.

However, I am also in the midst of the possibility of having my first novel published, while almost being done with another (unrelated). I have at least five more mapped out and ready for writing. However, if I continue down this path, I will undoubtedly make very little money for a while (or forever), until I have readers and more things published. And for me, writing takes time. A lot more time than most because I spend most of it looking up words I know exist but can’t find in my brain.

Not to mention I don’t even know if I’m a good writer.

A part of me just wants to take this job and forget about it all.

And a part of me wants my name on something permanent. Something physical. Something mine.

Oh the dilemma of life.

2 thoughts on “The big transition.

  1. Tricky, tricky. I myself came to that fork in the road a little while back. I chose to go the full-time writer route. So far it’s been a lot of work and not much money, but thankfully I have the support structure behind me so that I can still press on. It’s a very difficult question, and a question that nobody but you can answer. Whatever your decision, I wish you the best, and hope you find a happy journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

