Kaleidoscope by Mindy Hayes

25706091

I’ve been trying to put together how I felt about this book. I can’t say I didn’t like it, but I can’t say it made me want to read the next one.

The writing itself was very good. I kept wanting to skim because I was getting frustrated with the pace but I couldn’t bring myself to do it because the writing was that good.

The characters and situations were believable. I felt like I was watching an ABC Family drama, not reading a book. That should say something!

However, the thing about faeries is that I’m used to them being mysterious and magical. I didn’t feel that here. The main character spends all this time trying to hide her features, the only faeries we see are childish and petty, and then when the big bad comes suddenly all this magic matters.

Another big issue for me was knowing important information throughout the whole thing and it dragging out the reveals. Unlike the last book I read with the same thing, this book actually made me want to bang my head against the wall and scream JUST TELL HER ALREADY. It left me with a lot of eyerolls.

Overall, not a bad start to a series and if you like anything faeries and teenage romance you might enjoy it. If you want something a little more action packed instead of a coming-of-age with crumbs of information being spread out between 400 pages, this book is probably not for you.

Leave a Reply

