Warheart (Richard and Kahlan #4) by Terry Goodkind

23848607

A satisfying end to the series.

(Again)

Let me preface by saying I’ve been wielding the Sword of Truth books since I was in middle school. Wizard’s First Rule is still my favorite book of all time. I won’t say all the books in the series are great (or even good) but I’ve faithfully kept up with the story because I love Richard and Kahlan.

When Terry finished Confessor, it was a perfect ending. It left me with tears in my eyes and warmth in my heart. It wrapped up everything, from the Boxes of Orden to The Law of Nines, and I felt complete.

And then came The Omen Machine.

I was shocked at the raw intensity of it. The darkness beneath the darkness that came with it and after it. Severed Sous left me with my jaw on the floor. I couldn’t believe what happened. And with Warheart, we finally get the answers to all the burning questions. It was the conclusion of a lifetime, everything from the Boxes of Orden to the….wait, didn’t I write this already? It’s like seeing a bigger picture, one I’m guessing Terry created after writing the original books.

As far as the writing goes, this was probably one of the most skimmable books ever. A lot of descriptive scenes with nothing happening. Pages of walking down corridors and past trees. If you’re into that, you’ll be happy. I just wanted to know what happens! And when it hit the fan, it really hit the fan.

In the end, though nothing could beat the original series, I didn’t mind repeating the experience. If you enjoy Terry’s books and have been following Richard and Kahlan’s story you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

