You Are Mine by Janeal Falor

17888912

I picked this up because I recently started watching Game of Thrones (yes, I know, I’m late to the party) and the description stated the main character was sold to a barbarian, which intrigued me since I just saw something similar on the show. Obviously, the two have no actual resemblance in style or type of book, I just made a connection and said why not.

Boy am I glad I did!

This book was great! I didn’t want to put it down, so it was devoured in just a few days. It was strangely unique – a mashup of magic and fantasy while throwing in things like electricity and guns. The woman’s role is very much the same as 99% of these types of books, but that’s ok. I knew what I was getting into.

The main character is incredibly realistic. She gets carriage sickness! I loved it. Sure, the book had its own share of the PPPs*, but it was always part of an important step in the story. I enjoyed it from the first page to the last.

I’d have to say the thing I loved most about this book was the amount of satisfaction it brought. You know how there’s people you just hate that always seem to get what they want? And you have to wait until they destroy everyone in their way before finally falling on their own sword? Well this isn’t that kind of book. It gives justice, and it makes you feel good about it. Major props for that.

I’m interested in the next one, though I’ll have to give myself some time before I read it. It’s from the first perspective of the main character’s sister, and even reading the preview was hard because I was still in the wrong character’s head so to speak. But I will definitely be checking it out later. It looks just as interesting!

Overall, a great YA fantasy that keeps you enthralled and satisfied.

 

*PPPs: Pretty Princess Problems aka extensive concerns over dressing up, makeup, hair styling, throwing balls, etc. etc.

 

Leave a Reply

