Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter vs Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

It’s interesting how two books and two movies can be so similar, and yet so different.

I watched Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter when it came out in theaters, and I thought it was silly and ridiculous. It felt fake and only mildly entertaining. My husband, who read the book first, told me it was an aberration, and to give the original a chance.

I read the book and thought it was really good! The heavy historic feel of it was completely discarded in the movie for some offhand laughs. It only reinforced my opinion about how bad the movie was.

So when we saw a poster for Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies, we both groaned. Why would Seth Grahame-Smith allow another book to be defiled by the industry?

I read PPZ a few years back, and I thought it was booooooring. And where it wasn’t boring, it was just downright preposterous. Can anyone truly say “Pentagram of Death!” with a straight face?

But then, the trailer actually looked interesting. And I thought, how much worse could it be? I didn’t like the book, so maybe I’d like the movie.

The crazy thing is, I was right! PPZ was actually a fun and entertaining film! It was pretty seamless in the plot, zombies and all, and grabs you from the start. Both my husband and I enjoyed it, even though the entire second half was changed from the book (for better or for worse).

So, for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, read the book and disregard the movie, but for Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, watch the movie and skip the book.

One thought on “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter vs Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Leave a Reply

