A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund

25280316

A female Robin Hood retelling? Sign me up!

I got an email from NetGalley with this book and even though I had just started another I couldn’t help myself. I haven’t run across this particular twist before, so I was very intrigued.

First of all, what a sweet story! There is some darkness to balance the light, but very Disney-ish. It’s definitely written fairy-tale style, but with a historical feel. A nice pace keeps you interested and the small band of characters is both likable and believable. I kept seeing the main character Juliana as Merida from Brave. Take that as you will.

Also, the romance is strong with this one, and I’m not just talking insta-love. I’m talking eye-rolling extra-cheese burrito. It’s cute and it works for the story, but you’ve been warned.

Overall, if you want a Disney-style YA story based on Robin Hood, you’ll enjoy this one. If you want something deep and dark, set it aside for another time.

 

As I mentioned earlier, I got this as an ARC from NetGalley. 

Leave a Reply

