Justice Calling (The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Book 1) by Annie Bellet

22825711.jpg

My kids are on spring break, which means it took me an entire week to read 100 pages. And writing? HAH.

Someone save me. Please.

Anyway. In my excitement for the release of Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs (Mercy Thompson #9) I decided to read a shifter book – and what’s better than a geeky witch?

Well, a lot of things, but that’s besides the point.

This book is definitely one of those guilty pleasures. You don’t read it for the deep reflections, but for entertainment, pure and simple. Justice Calling definitely delivered on that front. Sexy shifter who is dark and mysterious? Check. Strong female protagonist who is super special and running away from a big bad? Check. Obscure heritage and daddy issues? Double check.

Sound familiar? There’s a reason for that. This is one big Urban Fantasy potluck, and everyone’s invited. Couple that with great witty writing, and it’s hard not to pick up the second one.

I definitely enjoyed the read, but there were plenty of cringe-worthy moments. Mostly I felt like it was trying too hard on the geek front, and not in the cheeky Big Bang Theory way, but just unnecessary. I’m pretty immersed in geek culture so half the time I’m smiling and the other half I’m rolling my eyes.

Really, if you want a quick entertaining read with shape-shifters and all the other Urban Fantasy goodies, pick this up. If you want something more original, go read Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson.

One thought on “Justice Calling (The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Book 1) by Annie Bellet

Leave a Reply

