Is it weird to bless your own sneeze?

Have you ever had a story affect you so much, it changes things you do on a daily basis?

I have.

When I was a child, I read a book of Irish fairy tales, and one of the stories absolutely terrified me. The plot was that in Irish folklore, if you sneeze three times and no one says ‘bless you’ (or whatever your country says), then a leprechaun can claim you as his bride. In the story, an evil leprechaun made a beautiful young maiden sneeze twice, and on the third time his servant couldn’t let the poor girl be bound to his master so he blessed her. The story has a happy ending, but for some reason the fear of not being blessed stayed with me.

Apparently they made a movie based on it (Leprechaun 2). Never watching that. Nope.

So since I work from home, no one is usually around to hear me sneeze, so I end up saying it myself. Is that weird? Probably. Do I care? Maybe a little. But I’ll probably do it for the rest of my life.

Personal stories welcome!

Leave a Reply

