The Rose of Versailles

rv-1.png

Since I’m currently writing a novel inspired by Revolutionary Girl Utena, I figured I would watch the inspiration for the inspiration – The Rose of Versailles.

For those who aren’t familiar, Utena is a girl who was saved by a prince as a child and decided to become one. She defends the honor of her friend just to find herself in the midst of a magical dueling game where the winner’s prize is engagement to the Rose Bride (Anthy). At first Utena rejects the idea of a relationship with Anthy, but … well, I won’t spoil it for you.

The Rose of Versailles is more historical fiction than fantasy like Utena. It follows Oscar, a woman who was raised as a boy by her father. Oscar becomes the royal guard of Marie Antoinette, from her engagement to French prince Louis XVI to their executions following the French Revolution (that’s not a spoiler – it’s history).

The thing about the Rose of Versailles, is that I expected a relationship between Oscar and…well, any woman. However, after watching it, I’m left disappointed. Unlike Utena, there are no f/f relationships. Yes, a girl does fall in love with Oscar but the feelings aren’t mutual. Oscar is only interested in men. Which doesn’t bother me – it’s kind of the norm. But I feel let down. Everywhere I read, it was hailed as revolutionary because of its yuri (f/f) elements and yet it doesn’t actually go there. It’s false advertising!

Aaaaanyway, that’s my rant for the day. Time to go back to writing – my queens await.

 

Leave a Reply

