The Seventh Bride by T. Kingfisher

25935854

Sorcery, and clockwork, and … chanting hedgehogs? Oh my.

The Seventh Bride is probably one of my favorite books of 2016 (so far). Why? I’ll tell you why.

It’s The Paper Magician done right.

Yeah, I said it. It has all the amazing properties of magic, intrigue, lovable (and hate-able!) characters, but with the correct pacing. Rhea, the MC, goes to a strange house enveloped in magic, meets some questionable occupants, has several tasks to complete, and gets trapped in a crazy place – but only just long enough. Or short enough, depending on how you look at it.

I seriously loved this book. Sentient animals? Check. Faery-like magic? Check. Fantastic story telling? Check check check.

And you know the craziest part? It was a steampunk crossover, and I loved it.

Let me explain. Steampunk makes me cringe. It’s like the black sheep of sci-fi being inserted in all the wrong places. I never thought I’d read a book where it would merge well with fairy tales (and I’ve tried, I really tried).

Well I was wrong. This book did it right. How, you ask? Because the clockwork was presented as a different version of fey. Think Mercy Thompson’s Underhill. It wasn’t randomly possible to make air machines and robots – it was another magical fraction of the world. Put it together with the magics of the other wives, and you get a big beautiful picture.

Looking at the low Goodreads reviews of this book makes me want to cry. It was so good, you guys. So good. I may be biased because I love fairy tales and this one was wonderful and exciting, but I don’t care. I loved it, and I think that if you’re into re-tellings, you’ll love it too.

Cross posted to My Trending Stories.

One thought on “The Seventh Bride by T. Kingfisher

Leave a Reply

