The Little Mermaid by Jenni James and The Glass Mermaid by Poppy Lawless

 

Another two-for-one deal! I am on a roll! This week I’ve decided to read about mermaids, because who doesn’t love mermaids?

Let me tell you, growing up in Russia, mermaids were a big deal. The Little Mermaid story was not just one of the most popular fairy tales, it was iconic. The Disney version was barely played. It was the anime that constantly showed on TV, along with the Russian live-action movie version. You can watch the anime here, but beware – it follows the true story. I loved it so much I knew every word to her song, but when the end came I would run out of the room so I wouldn’t cry. I bet if I watched it today, I would still cry. Mermaids hold a special place in my heart.

But, on to the books!

I’ve been wanting to read Jenni James’s retelling for a while now, so I finally got around to it. I have to say – wow. For a tale as old as time, this was a totally different take. Fresh and unique, I loved it. The best part was Jenni taking out the insta-love of the original. The story is definitely geared towards a younger audience, I’d say 10+, so it has a light tone and naive behavior, but it works well. I would absolutely get it for my niece. It’s so cute!

The Glass Mermaid, on the other hand, is anything but childish. It’s a heavy story but it’s also heartwarming. There are two POVs – the mermaid Kate and the artist Cooper. Kate is dying from heartbreak of being the last of her kind, and Cooper is dying from cancer. They meet, and you can guess what ensues. It was written wonderfully, impossible to put down. It’s not a retelling, but its own story. I loved it. It’s also written for adults, so there’s some innuendo too. The only thing that bothered me was the descriptions of how beautiful Lake Erie was. Let me tell you why.

Lake Erie is ten minutes down the street from my house. If I get it my car and drive, without making one turn, I will run into the lake. You’d think – awesome! Yes, it would be awesome, if it wasn’t for this.

I went to the beach yesterday to catch water Pokemon and there was a warning sign saying there are toxins in the water and to swim at your own risk. You would think ‘don’t drink the water’ is a third world country deal but no, right here in the great lakes, one of the largest fresh water sources in the world, the water is so disgusting no human or mermaid should ever set foot in it if given the choice.

But maybe in the world of the book, Lake Erie is clean and beautiful and isn’t green. I’d like that world. It would be nice.

Overall, these books are great and if you love mermaids, you’d love them too!

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

