The Accidental Witch by Jessica Penot

18757791

I don’t remember the last time I read about modern witches, so I figured I’d check this one out. A broken psychologist who finds out she has special powers? Sign me up.

The story itself was interesting. The author took a lot of tropes that we all love from the witchcraft genre and made them into something new. Mysterious books, old houses, evil demons, and tattoo spells – I can see this being a great Charmed episode. This book isn’t YA, so there’s plenty of adult themes as well, which is nice.

I liked that all the characters were flawed but also likable. I understood their actions, even when they seemed like the opposite of what they should have done. It gave the book a realistic feel. I truly enjoyed reading it.

However, there were two things that were quite down-putting. The first is the lack of editing. The publisher either didn’t hire an editor or hired someone who was drunk while editing. I felt like I was a beta reader instead of someone who actually purchased this book because all I wanted to do was write down a list of the mistakes I saw and send it over. And there are a lot. From typos, to wrong word choice (effect vs affect, etc), to blatant plot contradictions that could and should have been caught. If I was the publisher, I would do a reprint of the book to fix all the mistakes because it’s really unprofessional on their part to release this. However, it’s not (100%) on the author’s head so I’m quite forgiving on that front.

The second issue is a pet peeve of mine. The MC suffers from body dysmorphia, so I understand her thinking she’s fat and ugly when she’s not. But all the other characters are also pulled into it, so that every character we see who is overweight is automatically described as ugly, while blonde skinny and big boobs are automatically hot. Blegh. I had to go back and check to see if the writer was a man because I don’t usually see women use that kind of outlook. I get it, the book is from the MC’s POV, but it bothered me.

Overall, I thought it was a well developed plot and I enjoyed reading it. It wasn’t super long winded so that’s a plus. A good book to read about witches when it’s been a while.

 

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

4 thoughts on “The Accidental Witch by Jessica Penot

Leave a Reply

