Pity party – woe is me.

Well, it finally happened.

I got my first “this is the worst book I’ve ever read” review on Rise of the Chosen.

giphy

Yeah. Pretty much how I feel.

I know, I know. I’ve read all the ‘what (not) to do when you get a bad review’ blog posts and how it happens to the best of us but that doesn’t take away the feeling that I should never write anything ever again.

giphy (1).gif

Honestly, the amount of good reviews surprised me more than the bad one. All this time I thought my writing was horrible and people said no! It’s good! And now, finally, someone saw it for what it actually is:

giphy (2).gif

Okay, maybe I’m being a bit melodramatic, but I’m allowed. It’s my pity party and I’ll fill it in GIFs if I want to.

Speaking of reviews and GIFs, I always see awesome GIF-filled reviews on Goodreads and think to myself, “I hope someone does this for me one day!” Except, you know, not in a review like the one this post is about.

I’m also coming close to two agents’ response times for Queen. Two rejections, coming right up! I’ll take a side of tears with that, extra salty.

Anyway, if you’re in my boat today, share a virtual (or not) shot with me.

giphy (3).gif

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Pity party – woe is me.

  1. The best advice I’ve ever heard for this is as follows: Celebrate!

    There are certain things that every author goes through. Every author gets bad reviews. Every author gets rejections. Every author has days when nobody loves them and the world is burning up and the aliens are mutilating their cows and the vikings are raping their crops.

    Well… maybe I exaggerated a little bit towards the end there, but the point is, if it happens to all authors, maybe it isn’t the setback that you think it is. Maybe it’s just another step in the process. It’s like when you start working out, and you wake up in the morning and you’re so stiff you have to roll out of bed and onto the floor. Does it suck? Yes it does. But if you look at it and say ‘this stinks’ then your next thought is going to be, ‘maybe if I don’t do the work anymore I’ll never feel this way again.’ and that’s probably true. But if you remember that the pain is part of the process, and force yourself to celebrate this milestone… well, hell, that’s not so bad, is it?

    I don’t know if it will work for you, but it helped me a lot when I was going through a rash (and I mean a big ‘ol rash) of rejections.

    Celebrate! Eat some cake! Start a binder of rejection letters that you can show to some novice writer who comes to you one day and asks what it takes to be a successful writer.

    Oh, and I know that you already know this, but I’ll tell you anyways.

    Ahem:

    Nobody can tell you what it takes to be a successful writer, but anyone can tell you what it takes to fail. All you have to do is give up.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ahh, why is it that one bad review can overshadow ten good ones in our minds? Just remember, even the best books ever written have gotten horrible, awful, no good reviews. And if those gods among men can get panned, then the rest of us definitely aren’t going to get away unscathed either. ^_-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

