The Frog Prince and The Twelve Dancing Princesses by Jenni James

 

Slowly but surely, I’m making my way through Jenni James’ Faerie Tale Collection. Her writing is just so enchanting, I can’t get enough of it!

First we have The Frog Prince, and this is one book that shines out of the series for me. Not only is it unique while keeping with the original story line, it also feels like a well rounded plot. I loved it! Seriously, this is a twist you won’t see coming.

Then we have The Twelve Dancing Princesses, and unfortunately, that one didn’t quite resonate with me like the others. Not only was the romance really eye-roll worthy, the twist itself was one I’ve seen several times before and in a better way (like Thea’s Tale). I liked some aspects of it, especially the magic, and the prose is just beautiful no matter which story it is, but I wouldn’t single this one out from the others.

So far my favorites have been:

  1. The Frog Prince (#8)
  2. The Little Mermaid (#11)
  3. Beauty and the Beast (#1)

Next I’m looking forward to Sleeping Beauty (#2) and Snow White (#7) so check back soon!

 

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

