A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824.jpg

I was recommended this book by a beta reader to get a good look at a slow-growing romance between two people forced together by a mistake.

First of all – fae! Beautiful, mysterious, dangerous. These are my favorite kind of fae, ones that make the Mercy Thompson series so great. They have all kinds of rules and some rule-breakers you won’t expect. I loved every one of them, good and bad.

The romance itself was very Beauty and the Beast-like and I thought it developed well. I didn’t think it was insta-love and there was actual reason for its development. The mask-curse idea was brilliant too. Did I mention I love the fae? /squeal

Then we have the MC (Feyre) and her lot. Even though they weren’t very likable I understood their plights and their feelings were very realistic for the setting. The MC is definitely a kick-ass-female but boy is she dumb. I mean she keeps doing things that she either knows are dumb or should know are dumb. I partially felt sorry for her lack of brains. She’s also an artist and it keeps popping up randomly in her thoughts about colors and painting, which to me was jarring but I’m not an artist so I don’t know if artists actually think like that.

There was another thing that bothered me a lot, and I don’t feel like I’m spoiling this, but there is a riddle (because fae duh) and I only had to read the first two lines of it to know what it was, while the MC was totally oblivious. It was so obvious I had to roll my eyes every time she tried to decipher it. But I’ll chalk it up to her being dumb (see above paragraph).

I also think the name of the book is a bit out of place. It just doesn’t encompass the book correctly. It gives a totally different impression to me than what it was actually about. I don’t know, that’s just me though.

Don’t get me wrong – this book was great. I enjoyed reading it from start to finish. There were stakes and action and romance and danger and it was fantastic. If you love fae stories, you will love this book. I would recommend it to anyone into magic and fairy-tales.

 

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas | Words Matter

Leave a Reply

