Critique partners are like unicorns: impossible to find and most of them are just horses with plastic horns.

This wonderful video by Jenna Moreci describes exactly what I’ve been searching for for the past three months. I’ve joined writers groups, critique websites, and Reddit, and I’m no closer than when I started.

Here are the critique partners I’ve found so far:

The absent CP

This is the CP who seemed really excited – until I replied to their message (equally excited) and got crickets. Did they change their mind? Did they accidentally message the wrong person? Did they die in a tragic alligator accident? Who knows. I don’t. Because they didn’t answer.

The lazy CP 

This is the CP who needs to watch the above video. Three lines of feedback on ten thousand words is not a critique, at least not when I’m doing line edits back. Put some effort into it!

The starting out writer CP

Jenna hits the nail on the head when she says the writing abilities should be at least similar. I don’t mind guiding a new writer, but that just makes me their CP, not the other way around.

And I still have yet to find one! My best CP experience was with a fellow writer, but my current works are not his genre so I’m trying to get someone, anyone, who will help me get my narrative together so these agents can stop telling me they love my book but my narrative needs work! Help! T_T

3 thoughts on “Critique partners are like unicorns: impossible to find and most of them are just horses with plastic horns.

  1. You said you tried reddit… have you posted anything on the subreddit destructivereader? I found that there were several decent critiquers on there. You have to critique before you post, and you have to post a little bit at a time, but I found them fairly decent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

