The Goodbyes by Leslie Welch

29553193

Oh my God you guys. This book. Words cannot describe.

I felt like I was 16 all over again. All the feelings, the insecurities, the backstabings, the lies, and the tangle of emotions that makes up the teenage years are portrayed in this heartwarming and heart-wrenching read. The moment you think you understand, you don’t. The moment you think you can breathe – you can’t. 

I seriously could not put this book down. It’s a big change from my usual fantasy reads, and honestly I expected not to like it because I don’t like reading depressing stories. I was glad to be wrong. This was worth every minute, every sentence, every word.

The characters were so realistic I felt like I knew them in real life. Flawed and angsty and real. I wanted to reach over through the pages and hug the MC. Just hold him. There was no kingdom to save and no magic to master, but his journey wasn’t through external happenings – it was in his own heart.

I loved and I hated. I couldn’t wait to turn the page and see what happened next. If you’re looking for a nostalgic read roiling with emotions this is a fantastic story that I would recommend to anyone, even if it’s not your genre. Give it a try and I think you’ll find it as amazing as I did.

(I received this book from NetGalley for an honest review)

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

