The Blood Mirror (Lightbringer #4) by Brent Weeks

29449386.jpg

Forget everything you know about this series. 

After the shocking reveal at the end of the last book, I didn’t think anything could surprise me.

I was wrong. So wrong. Over and over again. Just when I thought we got the big reveal – we get something even bigger. This book was a constant blow to the mind (in a good way).

Plot twist after plot twist, I found myself in awe of just how intricate the design of these books has been weaved from the very beginning. Things I never would have guessed but that also don’t feel wrong. I had to know what happened next and I couldn’t wait to finish the book. Lucky for me, I found out that it wasn’t the last one like he planned before I read it, so I didn’t look for closure and wasn’t disappointed.

As normal in epic fantasy, there was an abundance of strategizing, fight scenes, and politics, and at points I felt like skimming through because I didn’t care about the logistics that much, but it didn’t take away from the overall story. I know others will drink all that up like kool aid. I was most interested in internal dialogue, which was so exceptionally written, especially for Karris and Dazen. I fell in love with Tisis, something I never in a million years thought I would do. And Kip is…well, Kip. Breaker. Lightbringer. Leader. Zero self esteem and 100% heart.

The last thing I’ll say is that the end of this book was like the episode before a series finale of a TV show. All cards are on the table. We know what must be done, but can it be done? Will it? Tune in next week year to find out!

Book 5 is going to be epic. I can’t wait.

 

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

