Nest by Terry Goodkind

32452043.jpg

Preface: Wizard’s First Rule was the book that got me into reading fantasy. Thanks to Terry Goodkind, I am the person I am today. My writing is a direct result of his, and I owe him immeasurably for it. I have never read a thriller before, but because I’ve read every single one of his books I figured I’d give it a shot. Nest is his debut thriller novel so I had no idea what to expect.

Well, the good news is it got me in chapter one. I drank it in like cult koolaid and was immediately eager to find out where it was going to go. A mentally challenged man chained up ‘the devil’ in his basement? So many possibilities I can’t begin to tell you what went on in my head. I was not disappointed in the story that followed.

It was a mix of horror and crime drama with a dash of magical realism.  It had all the ingredients of an amazing story that left a lasting impression on the reader’s worldview. And it did – I just wish that’s all it did.

Goodkind is known for repetition in his writing style, and it never quite bothered me before. I could just skim when he went off on his tangents of internal struggles and long-winded explanations.

For Nest? Not so much. In this book, the entire middle was explanations upon explanations (and re-explanations) with bits of actual things happening throughout. If I skipped them I would end up skipping half the book.

The story itself was so interesting I really wanted to keep reading, but man at times I just felt like rolling my eyes and skipping. However, I didn’t want to miss the awesome (and genuinely surprising) twists Terry put throughout the book so I had to keep with it.

Overall, I’m glad I read it because it gave me a lot to think about, but I probably wouldn’t read a second one. It was gory and terrifying at times, with a great beginning and end. A solid story I wish I enjoyed reading more, but by the amount of five star reviews on Goodreads, there are plenty of people who loved it.

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

