Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

18053060.jpg

This book has some seriously clashing reviews on Goodreads. It’s rare to see such wide differences of opinion on just the first page. Everything from zero stars to all the stars in the universe.

For me, The Wizard of Oz brings instant nostalgia. I’ve read every book in the loose adaptation series by Alexander Volkov countless times. Ellie (Dorothy) was a strong and honorable heroine, saving Magic Land (Oz) time and time again.

When I saw Dorothy Must Die I was very intrigued, and I have to say it lived up to its description.

This book is dark. From the first chapter, we can see that there will not be any dancing or singing. Oz has been twisted into a Five Nights and Freddy’s nightmare where your only goal is to hide or be turned into a horrifying animatronic. The twists are seriously twisted. Characters die off Game of Thrones style. This book was insanely well written, simple and yet vivid, some descriptions even gag inducing. I couldn’t put it down.

And then I had to, because it ended.

Except the story didn’t. All this world building. All this training. All this character development. The big life or death event. All to say ‘read the next book to find out!’

No, wait, read the next THREE.

Aa;dkjg;oiajr;gokadjflg.

I should have known, since it’s the first in a series, but I was hoping for some kind of closure. Still, it was good (in my opinion) and I will be picking up more.

Overall, a great dark take on Oz and worthwhile read if you don’t mind a cliffhanger.

Cross-posted to My Trending Stories.

Leave a Reply

