Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30724132

I did not expect to love this book so much.

Modern day fairy tale retellings have a huge caveat for me. They either make it so the fairy tale never existed, which feels fake, or they make it too close to the original storyline (or its retellings) where it’s more eye-roll worthy than unique.

If I had to categorize, Geekerella was the latter, with the modernized name ‘Ella’ a staple in these kinds of stories, and yet it was still so fresh and wonderful and inspiring I would read a hundred more of these.

I could list all the ways I relate to her in terms of geekery and fandom, from my /played on WoW to my horde tattoo, but it’s so much more than that. It’s the comradery in the geek world that really made the book for me. When everyone came together at one part I teared up because that’s what it’s like to connect with people without ever knowing them.

This book was a fun and adorable read, and if you’re geeky and looking for something short and sweet this is perfect.

Thanks to Netgalley for giving me this ARC!

Leave a Reply

