A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

31938963

Let’s rewind.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was good, but not great. I only picked up the second book because everyone said it was amazing and way better than the first.

And it was. A Court of Mist and Fury was probably my favorite book of 2016. I loved it so much I couldn’t wait for book three.

A Court of Wings and Ruin did not disappoint in terms of giving us a great conclusion to the story. We got it all in an epic fantasy format. No more Beauty and the Beast shadows lurking in the background. This was all out war. However, I can’t go into greater detail without spoilers so here’s my warning – spoilers ahead!

What was amazing.

  1. NOBODY DIED (told you there were spoilers). Well, nobody who matters anyway, aside from the Bone Carver, but he was on the low-priority list. I am so so SO happy Sarah didn’t kill off one of Rhysand’s warriors, because I was just waiting for one of them to sacrifice his or her life for good. It just goes to show that you don’t have to kill off or maim a character to have a profound story about war. I mean yeah, Rhys and Amren died, but resurrections don’t count in my opinion. Honestly, this was probably my favorite thing about the book.
  2. The writing. Reading Maas’s writing makes me want to cry because it’s so amazing. The feelings, the descriptions, the world, I couldn’t get enough.
  3. The characters. This kind of ties into #1 but I just love everyone Maas had created. They feel so real to me.
  4. Topics like PTSD and consent are very well represented.
  5. Such a wonderful and satisfying ending. And – there’s more coming! I wonder if it’s going to be a spin-off, like Tamlin or Lucien getting their happily ever afters. Either way, I’ll be looking out for it.

The meh:

  1. I guess I didn’t see ACOTAR as lacking in diversity too much since most of the characters are fairies, and I didn’t mind all the emphasis on different skin colors of the different courts in this book. But the addition of not one, not two, not three, but FOUR queer relationships/people to significant characters felt…reeeealllyyyy forced. Now, I’m queer myself – I write queer books with queer characters. But this was just weird. Especially with Mor. Like Maas had this great storyline of Mor and Az finally getting together and her editor was like ‘we need more gays’ and she was like ‘fine’. I think this is the first time ever that I’ve been disappointed in finding out a character was gay. I did like how she explained it, though, with the sex vs emotional connection. Sex can feel good with anyone, but love and romance – that’s a whole different ballgame.
  2. Tamlin’s storyline bothered me here. I felt like if the last book was from his POV, he would be the protagonist trying to save his fiance by any means necessary and we would cheer for him. Feel for him. This book, too, I felt that Feyre kept telling US that he was a bad guy for giving up his people and kept leaving out that it was for love, the strongest magic of all fairy tales. That’s why I didn’t buy it. Because we didn’t have his POV. We didn’t have that story and I think we would be better off if we did. The main caveat here was Tamlin not telling Feyre he was going to go against Hybern when she first came back. Wasn’t he supposed to trust her now? I guess then that one conversation would have invalidated the entire premise of the book, but still, I feel like it would have and should have gone that way if Maas wanted Tamlin to not be an antagonist.
  3. Why do the men keep growling? Like I get it with Tamlin, he’s a wolf, but everyone else? o_0
  4.  I want to say something about the length, but I can’t quite pin what it is. I didn’t mind the length of ACOMAF and this was just as big. It seemed like most of the repetitive scenes were sex and fighting sex and fighting sex and fighting. I didn’t really mind that much, but I guess I just wanted to get back to the actual story progression when they came up.

I might add some more later, but I think I’m done for now. Overall, a must-read ending to the series and I’m glad to have taken the time to read it.

2 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

    • I don’t think it’s about quantity but proper rep. A lot of authors want to cram their books full of diversity but end up whitewashing the characters anyway. If you give each character their dues then there’s no problem.

      In this book, Mor’s reveal felt forced because it was out of place. It made her look like an asshole not the person Maas had built up over the last two books. Mor was part of an accepting family and she chose to keep hurting a person in it. It seems…thrown together with excuses over being actually developed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

