The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney

13536360

Huh. So apparently this is an old book (1991) that was recently reprinted. I saw it on Bookbub and the description made me curious. A girl finds out she may have been kidnapped from a milk carton photo? Sounds like a horror movie in the making.

Except it wasn’t. Every time the story could have taken a very dark turn, it went the opposite direction. Every time I thought I knew what was about to happen, I didn’t. Aside from the allusions to teen sex, it was very innocuous. Which was both a relief and a letdown.

I’m happy it was a short book, an in-between read that you can finish in a matter or hours. A safe but interesting plot. Worth the time and the wondering of what-ifs afterwards. I enjoyed it, but I’m ready for something a bit more heavy. Maybe it’s time for some real horror.

 

Leave a Reply

